The Fortress (Cetatuia)
Cetatuia Hill, Brasov
Strategically overlooking the town and the plains to North, the Citadel is
part of Brasov's outer fortification system. At first some wooden protective
walls was erected here, later, in 1529, destroyed by Petru Rares. On the same
spot they built a stone citadel called Cetatuia (1553), destroyed by fire in
1618 and re-built in 1625. For protective purposes the inhabitants added to
the initial building four massive stone bastions in 1630. The citadel was abandoned
later, after technological innovations made cannons stronger than the building.
It served as a prison for a while.
Nowadays the citadel was turned into a
restaurant called Cetate. If you visit the restaurant remember
to take a tour and admire the collection of Medieval weapons
hanged on the walls and to drop a penny in the well (81 m deep)
for good luck. In the center of the Citadel is a narrow courtyard
displaying shields, lances, a canon and coat of arms.
The Fortress or the Citadel is called in Romanian 'Cetate'
(pronounced 'chetatay'), the name one should use if want
to ask the locals for information about it. Most Romanians
don't know the English name(s) of the place. It is not
difficult to be found, as it is at the top of the hill across
the Central Park.