Brasov City

Brasov is situated in the central part of the the country being considered the second most important town in Romania. Located 160 km from Bucharest, Romania’s capital, Brasov is surrounded like a halo by the Carpathians, being in the middle of the country at the crossroads of the the Eastern Carpathian and the Southern Carpathians. Across the mountains to the South and East there are Wallachia and Moldavia, to the West the Banat region and to the North the rolling hills of Northern Transylvania.

Stretching over a surface of 5,363 sq km the County of Brasov comprises Barsa depression and Fagaras land and in the North-Northeast Persani Mountains and the depression neighbored by Olt river and Tarnave (Hirtibaciului Plateau).


The County of Brasov features 9 important towns, three of them are municipalities (Brasov, Fagaras, Sacele).

The official language is Romanian. Some Hungarian and German are spoken in the old districts, while mainly English is spoken by those connected with the tourist industry and the young inhabitants. Ethnic composition of Brasov County: Romanian, Hungarians, Germans and a lower percentage is represented by Jews and Gipsies.


Brasov has a temperate-continental climate with cold and relatively wet weather in the mountains. The summer nights in Brasov could be a little chilly. The transition between summer and winter occurs gradually by the insertion of two other seasons called “spring” and “autumn”. The average temperature is 7.6 degrees C and the annual average humidity in the air is 75%. The highest temperature in summer is 35.0 degrees C and the lowest in winter is -30 degree C. The yearly amount of rain is said to be 1300 mm/ sq. m in the mountains and 600 mm/ sq. m in depressions. Usually the wind is blowing from West with 1.5 to 3.2 m/s speed.

The local hour

Eastern European Time Zone : GMT+2 hours.

When noon in Romania it is 11.00 in Paris and Berlin, 10.00 in London, 05.00 in New York, 19.00 in Sydney and 13.00 in Moscow. Summertime: GMT+3 hours. From the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in October.


Brasov’s natural tourist potential is closely connected with its relief since the nearest Eastern and Southern Carpathians are able to satisfy the tastes and desires of all tourists, who are longing to practice either winter sports or summer sports. Three important resorts (Poiana Brasov, Predeal, Sinaia) offer tourists a wide range of winter and summer sports like skiing, snow boarding, driving snowmobiles, swimming, climbing, tennis and roller skating.

The Prahova Valley in the Bucegi Massif (The Omu, the highest peak 2507m elevation) is an unforgettable display of nature which is worth seeing.

The landscape passes from the green of the rich flora in the plain to the gray of the rocks then again to the mountain’s color. The mountains are covered by oak, beech , fir and pine trees.

The Brasov County is home for wolf, brown bear, fox, lynx, roebuck, stag, wild boar and hare.

Other places of interest: Bran (Bran Castle), Rasnov, Harman, Prejmer, The Clearing of Narcissuses (near Fagaras town), Poiana Marului.

With many facilities for winter and summer sports, nice and cozy accommodation and very tasty cuisine, Brasov is one of the best places to spend a holiday.

5388 Total Views 3 Views Today